Frequently Asked Questions

The nation’s capital is the obvious location for an appropriate national tribute to America’s disabled veterans, and it was long overdue.

  • Disabled American Veterans (DAV)
  • American Veterans (AMVETS)
  • Military Order of the Purple Heart (MOPH)
  • Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States (VFW)
  • The Independent Budget (including AMVETS, DAV, VFW and Paralyzed Veterans of America)
  • Catholic War Veterans
  • Air Force Association
  • National Amputation Foundation
  • Iraq Afghanistan Veterans Association (IAVA)
  • Paralyzed Veterans of America (PVA)
  • Blinded Veterans Association (BVA)
  • American Legion
  • Reserve Officers Association

After its dedication, the Memorial was transferred to the National Park Service for continued care and maintenance.

The men and women who became disabled in their service in the Armed Forces of the United States have made an invaluable contribution to America. From its inception, the Memorial’s mission has been to recognize that contribution and serve as a solemn, collective reminder of the permanent human cost of conflict. We do not list individual disabled veterans by name, however, the Memorial honors each and every one for their service, sacrifice and enduring heroism.